Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 22nd, 2009

The past couple of nights have been very quiet indoors. I spent a while last night watching a Common Emerald bobbing back and forth across the outside of the bathroom window; that was the nearest I came to seeing a macro species inside.

The only two moths to actually come into the house were a Bird-cherry Ermine (yponomeuta evonymella) :

Bird-cherry Ermine (yponomeuta evonymella)

Bird-cherry Ermine (yponomeuta evonymella)

Bird-cherry Ermine (yponomeuta evonymella)

Bird-cherry Ermine (yponomeuta evonymella)

The other small moth was an agapeta hamana, but whereas the Ermine was in lustrous condition this moth looked rather worn and faded.

The night before last was even slower. The only moth, and again it was very, very small was (I think) tinea trinotella; a moth the larvae of which feed off what they can find in birds’ nests. Perhaps another candidate for “icky thing of the moth”?

tinea trinotella

tinea trinotella

Now the only other thing to remark on is the relative absence this year of non-moth insects: in past years I’ve had beetles, bugs, bush-crickets (katydids). All sorts. Well last night for the first time this summer I had a greenlace wing. In the past I’ve looked into determining the species but greenlace wing species are hard to differentiate – way beyond my level of competence. I still like them, they’re quite pretty and relatively harmless.

Green lacewing

Green lacewing

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.